Getting Skinny On A Gluten Free Diet

In my quest to 'tidy up my diet', I've been asking myself, " What Does This Really Mean?".  

Is it gluten free or not?  

I'm not one to exclude food groups from my diet with no founded reason and since I don't have coeliac disease there is no medical reason for me to do so.  BUT, like you I see everywhere that cutting gluten from my diet will help me loose weight.   My head tells me that this, for the most part, is BS, yet I still find myself wondering what if I cut out all gluten products, (and diary too - now that's another conversation), maybe the weight will fall of me!  

 

Gluten is a protein in wheat (all kinds, including spelt, Kamut® khorasan, einkorn and farro/emmer), barley, rye and triticale (a rye/wheat hybrid) that is hard for some people to digest.  Learn more here http://wholegrainscouncil.org/whole-grains-101/what-is-a-whole-grai

So instead of looking at what I can't have, if I were to follow a gluten free diet, I thought it best I look at what I can have.  

List of Gluten Free Grains. 

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat
  • Chickpeas (Garbanzos)
  • Corn
  • Flax
  • Flours from nuts/beans/seeds
  • Millet
  • Potato starch or flour
  • Quinoa
  • Rice (and rice bran/flour)
  • Sago
  • Sorghum
  • Soy (but not most soy sauce)
  • Tapioca
  • Teff

Any of the above are grains and starches which are deemed safe to eat, as gluten free grains. To be 100 percent gluten free, these should also be free from the opportunity of cross contamination. You can eat them stand-alone or you can use them as ingredients in other foods.  Sourced from:

http://www.whatcontainsgluten.com/2010/09/gluten-free-grains.html

What about Oats?

In America they say: 

Oats are inherently gluten-free, but are frequently contaminated with wheat during growing or processing.

In Australia we say:

Gluten is the general descriptor used to describe a prolamin protein fraction that affects those with coeliac disease. This protein occurs only in wheat, rye, barley and oats. Technically the gluten fraction from each grain is named differently in each grain, as the amino acid sequence is slightly different, yet these fractions still contain the sequence that will trigger symptoms and intestinal damage in those with coeliac disease. The gluten fraction is called gliadin in wheat, hordein in barley, secalin in rye and avenin in oats

Food can be tested by laboratories to determine the presence and a certain level of gluten content, however, the current tests for gluten can only measure gliadin, hordein, and secalin but not avenin due to its slight difference in amino acid make up. As a result FSANZ (Food Standards Australia and New Zealand) prohibit any form of oats to be defined as gluten free, hence all oats, pure oats and oat containing products cannot be labelled or advertised as gluten free in Australia and New Zealand.  Source Coeliac Australia 

Read the full article :

http://www.coeliac.org.au/uploads/65701/ufiles/Position_Statements/CAPSOats.pdf

Could I possibly cut foods made with gluten ingredients from my diets?? 

No toast in the morning... huh... And what will I make instead of my 'easy go to meals' made with pasta!  Arrhhh!! 

I guess I could try this Gluten Free Bread 

Transient

What are your thoughts on a gluten free diet and weight lose?